Home
Twitter
RSS
Newsletter
Matt Keller
03 Sep, 2006

Saints Row Review

360 Review | The patron saint of ass whoopin'?
In all aspects of life, it is tough to come up with a good original idea, but the entertainment industries have it even tougher, having to come up with original ideas that are also marketable. Audiences tend to look the other way when a studio or developer takes a few elements from another highly successful production to incorporate into their own. Original ideas can fuel industries, but sometimes products that work to further refine these original concepts can be successful too. The Grand Theft Auto series was, without a doubt, the most successful video game franchise of the generation, and as we saw, many companies tried to cash in on the success of the series by attempting to incorporate sandbox elements into their games. While some of these products were entertaining, none of them really packed the punch of Rockstar North’s big hit.

Now that we’ve moved onto more powerful hardware, it’s only a matter of time until every developer tries to incorporate further sandbox elements into their games, hoping to beat Grand Theft Auto IV to market and steal some of its thunder. That was our first impression of Saints Row – just another cheap cash-in developed by a group that doesn’t really understand what made GTA successful. We were mostly wrong. Saints Row may not be better than GTA, but it successfully mimics many of the game’s best elements, and adds a whole bunch of ideas, features and nice little touches that make you wonder why nobody had already thought of them. The game does have a number of problems that can aggravate the player, but anyone looking for a solid action game or a stop gap solution until the next big thing hits, then Saints Row is well worth a look.

Saints Row begins to distance itself from the other sandbox games from the get-go by not featuring a central pre-designed player character, instead inviting gamers to create their own hoodlum. The creation tools provided are fairly diverse, allowing for choice of ethnicity, a wide arrange of hair styles, facial moulding and all of the usual stuff you’d expect to see in a sports game, rather than an action game. Once you’ve created your gangsta wannabe, the game thrusts you into the main narrative.

While walking the streets one night, your character is caught in the middle of a battle between two of the local gangs. Julius of the 3rd Street Saints saves you from being perforated, and invites you to join his gang, much to the dismay of his followers. Essentially, the 3rd Street Saints are in a bit of a pickle, with their influence fading and rival gangs (such as Los Carnales, Westside Rollerz and Vice Kings) taking more control over Stilwater with each passing day. It’s basically up to you to give the Saints a bit of a hand in taking down the rival gangs and building up their reputation, in order to drive fear into those who would challenge them. The story isn’t brilliant or original by any means, but it is serviceable and generally inoffensive, with the odd joke thrown in for good measure [It’s Los Carnales, not the Los Carnales! – Ed] and the usual slew of Hollywood talent providing voices (in this case, Keith David, Michael Clarke Duncan and David Carradine headline the act).

The 3rd Street Saints are based in a church. How fitting.

The 3rd Street Saints are based in a church. How fitting.
Close
Upon completion of a few routine tasks for the 3rd Street Saints, Julius will decide to assign a gang to each of his lieutenants, and you will have to work with them in order to take that particular gang out. These plotlines stand alone, but eventually intertwine once you get towards the finale. There are over 30 story missions to play, and the range of tasks available is quite broad, from simple driving jobs to psyching out drivers so they trigger their defunct nitrous oxide systems, to taking out aeroplanes with rocket launchers. On top of the story missions, there is a number of stronghold missions, which are a bit of an expansion on the gang war concept from San Andreas. Players can’t just attack the story missions freely; they have to have enough respect points in their meter to trigger a mission (not unlike True Crime’s badge system).

This means having to complete a bunch of side missions to fill the meter in order to continue the story or take over more territories, which feels like a way of dragging the game out a little at times. The range of difficulty in the story missions is really wide; you’ll think at times that the game is a cakewalk (especially with the regenerative health and easy revival of your homies), and then you’ll get tossed into a really hard mission which may result in hair loss or thrown controllers. Action within Saints Row is of a high quality, thanks largely to some excellent weapons and a quality aiming system. Rocket launchers are standard fare in action games these days, but there’s a certain sense of extra oomph delivered in Saints Row when a rocket makes its way into a helicopter for massive damage. Players can be accompanied by up to three “homies” at any one time based on their respect – you can recruit gang members off the street, but special members will be available if you complete jobs and call them on your cell phone. Fire fights can get pretty hectic when you and your homies are fighting other gangs and police all at the same time with rockets and machine gun fire going everywhere.

Stilwater is the name of the city featured in Saints Row, and although it is not based on a real city, it is pieced together like your average city, with several different suburbs with their own distinct look, feel and population. It just so happens that each of the gangs in the city has an influence over each area; the Saints rule over a fairly slummy area, the Rollerz rule the suburbs and parts of the outer city, Los Carnales rule the industrial areas and ports, while the Vice Kings rule the projects and inner city. Unlike many of the other cities featured in sandbox games, Stilwater is not absurdly oversized, nor is it sparsely populated. That’s not to say that it isn’t a big place, and there are some parts of the city where few people roam, but it feels so much more alive than the cities in True Crime or Spider-Man 2.

The city itself is quite attractive, largely due to the fact that Volition has gone to a lot of trouble creating high resolution textures for all of the buildings and pathways, not to mention the excellent lighting effects which really help bring the game to life. There are some issues with texture pop-up and traffic/pedestrians mysteriously disappearing split seconds after you pass them – not exactly pleasant inclusions, but players will adjust to them. Interaction between the objects in the game and the environment is really impressive – the use of Havok physics gives the game a much more solid feeling. Pedestrians will fly into the air when you hit them at high speed, debris will fly everywhere when a car explodes, and you hardly ever see any clipping errors – these factors may seem rather insignificant, but it does give the feeling that we’re finally seeing some classic problems fixed by the new generation of hardware.

Next generation hardware can get pretty hot.

Next generation hardware can get pretty hot.
Close
Like many other sandbox action games, Saints Row’s main method of transport is the humble automobile. Unfortunately, it’s the only method of getting around quickly – there are no motorbikes, bicycles, skateboards, boats, helicopters or any of that fancy stuff. One of the things that really cheesed us off about Saints Row is the way these vehicles handle – the weight and reliability is far too unpredictable. In one crash your car might stick to the ground, while in a perfect replication of that crash, the car might flip up, even if it doesn’t seem like that would happen. It’s pretty disappointing that developers continue to fail to understand the importance of vehicle physics in these games. The cars themselves look amazing, with nice shiny paint jobs and chroming effects. The detail from crashes is reasonably good in terms of denting and parts falling off the car (and even getting stuck in the wheels and effecting handling), but for some reason, a car’s paintwork can never get scratched or dirty. There is a fairly diverse range of vehicles in the city, with some unique cars rewarded to players for completing missions and side tasks.

There's also a fairly extensive car modification system available which will let players pimp their ride how they see fit. Multiple cars can be stored in the garage at your crib, but instead of popping in and out when you open the garage, you can chose your desired car from a menu, which prevents the problem of the disappearing car act we all loathed in San Andreas. Twelve radio stations are featured in the game – it’s good to see that a developer has finally realised that just having a good selection of licensed music is meaningless without some idle chatter and amusing commercials thrown in. Some of the jokes might be a little crass or cliché, but it’s better to have them than nothing at all. The music selection is quite diverse, from your regular East Coast and West Coast rap stations to classical compositions from Bach and Wagner. Another little neat feature is that the radio doesn’t turn off completely when you exit the car – it can still be heard from around the car.

There’s a lot to see and do in the city of Stilwater. Side missions tend to make up a lot of what players will be doing outside of the main story, since you need to complete them to build up respect to start other missions relevant to the story. They come in fairly distinct flavours – some are conventional, and a little boring, but others are completely off the wall, and an absolute ball to play. Racing missions are pretty self explanatory, but quite unforgiving, making them a bit of a chore. Chop Shop has players working for a mechanic who will ask you to find specific models of cars to bring back to the store – starting off with basic cars before going on to looking for imported cars with modifications and the like. Unlike the GTA equivalent of this mode, Saints Row will provide you with icons on the map to show you the location of the cars (if they are in your general vicinity), which makes it a little easier to digest when you’re chasing those last few cars. Demolition Derby is exactly what the name suggests – you get thrown in a dirt ring with a bunch of other cars and have to trash them. Unfortunately, it sounds like a lot more fun than it is, thanks to the game’s inconsistent vehicle physics.

Guest appearance from Master Shake?

Guest appearance from Master Shake?
Close
Hostage missions are triggered when you carjack someone with a passenger, with your objective being to hold that passenger to ransom while keeping the car’s speed high enough for them not to escape while avoiding the police’s attempts to take you down – which can be quite exciting. Drug Trafficking involves the player being recruited by a dealer to ride shotgun with him while he delivers product to his clients. The player must protect the dealer from the police and rival gangs, which can become quite a handful on the later levels of the task. Going to strip clubs will trigger the Escort mission, where the player must act as the driver while the client and a stripper get up to naughty antics in the back seat. Why are you in a car? Well, the Paparazzi just happen to be tailing your car, looking for filth to put on the front page of tomorrow’s tabloid. In the Hitman missions, you will be hired by a gangster to take out a series of key witnesses in an upcoming trial. The witness’ basic location will be revealed to the player, and you will have to go to the location and take him down in the method prescribed. Pimps can be contacted for Snatch missions; that is stealing whores from other pimps and returning them safely. They tend not to let them go easily, so it’s good to blast them before you cop a pimp hand.

Mayhem has the player working for a rather sour divorcee, who is out for her husband’s money. Your job is to cause as much damage to vehicles, property and people as possible in the time provided – you even get bonuses for working to the lady’s specifications. Arguably, the best of these little side jobs is Insurance Fraud. Teaming up with an unscrupulous lawyer or a rather shady doctor, players will be asked to feign a series of injuries in order to get a big insurance settlement. There’s only one sure fire way to convince the court of your claims; play in traffic. By throwing yourself in front of passing vehicles, you’ll rack up insurance dollars, but if you have witnesses or hit a civic service vehicle, the claim will be multiplied. When you combine this mode with the game’s implementation of ragdoll physics, you’ve got a formula for hours of fun.

When fast food queues get ugly.

When fast food queues get ugly.
Close
Side missions aren’t the only thing to do in the city. Players can shop ‘til they drop at the variety of stores for clothes & shoes, jewellery, guns, drugs, alcohol, cars and music. Dissatisfied with the store’s service? Rob them. By kicking down the back door and cracking the safe’s combination, players can get their mitts on the store’s cash, or even some stock to take to the local pawn broker. Other locations such as the plastic surgeon and tattoo artist will allow you to change everything regarding your character’s appearance, including his ethnicity. There’s a stack of other little gadgets accessible to your character which make cruising Stilwater quite fun. Satellite navigation is everywhere these days, and Saints Row is no exception, with the game’s navigation system displaying the fastest way to get to a waypoint based on your current location. Players have access to a cell phone which they can use to call various numbers that are found around the city for amusing messages, or for calling the police or ambulance when they’re needed. Music can also be played on your player’s portable music player at any time, provided you’ve bought the songs from the music store, or have loaded them from your Xbox 360’s hard drive.

Saints Row’s single player mode is fairly lengthy, and should last players for about 25 to 30 hours, but there’s also a multiplayer mode on top of that. It’s pretty cool that Volition has gone to the extra length of adding support for 12 players over Xbox Live, effectively beating Rockstar’s Grand Theft Auto to the punch. There are four modes to play online which include Big Ass Chains (collect the chains from the players as you kill them and drop them off), Protect the Pimp (self explanatory), Gangsta Brawl (a deathmatch battle) and Blinged Out Ride (upgrade your vehicle as quickly as possible). Whilst you’re waiting for players to join the game you’re taken into an interactive lobby where you can shoot other players and warm up for the real game.

The game also includes co-op support, but it’s not quite as enjoyable as it first seems. The co-op mode seems like it has been thrown in at the last moment and you can only play two co-op missions which include mob rule and turbulence. In Mob Rule you need to carry boxes to a specific area whilst you’re being attacked. In Turbulence you need to race to the end of a level as fast as possible. There just aren’t enough co-op options for this mode to be all that enjoyable, but we wouldn’t be surprised if more were added later on in a downloadable mission pack. It’s worth noting that we also experienced some lag in multiplayer and often it felt like we were waiting for the game to connect for a decent five minutes, but a patch has just been released which would appear to fix these issues.

Saints Row doesn’t pretend to be original, and it isn’t without problems, but it does provide enough high quality gaming for players to overlook the game’s few shortcomings. It introduces a lot of cool little features while providing enough entertaining gameplay to keep players coming back for months to come.
The Score
It's far from original and it's not problem free, but Saints Row is still a damn fine game. 8
Looking to buy this game right now? PALGN recommends www.Play-Asia.com.

Related Saints Row Content

Win one of four Limited Edition Saint's Row Hoodies
13 Oct, 2008 Be part of the Brother-hood.
Saints Row coming to the PlayStation 3
01 Feb, 2007 The Xbox 360 loses an exclusive.
Saint's Row Ho Ho Ho Pack available
19 Dec, 2006 Best of all, it's free.
29 Comments
7 years ago
Awesome review, pretty much spot on and you seemed to have covered a lot of the important details (read an ign review about 4 pages long which had less detail than this).

I've just got a couple of questions:

You said the vehicle physics were a little off....and I agree....it's kinda unpredictable....but is this the fault of the Havok Physics engine or that engine being applied to ingame objects (such as cars etc)? I only ask this because if it's the actual Havok engine being applied to ingame objects then it would be the fault of the developer (Volition), alternatively it would be the fault of the Havok physics engine (and therefore it's creators...which I think was Havok) if the engine just had problems dealing with fast moving objects (it just seemed like the buggy in half-life 2 had the same problems). Any ideas (I'll repharse if that's too confusing)?

Also the second question was:

You said at the end of the review that a patch has just been released. Could you give me a date (approx) when this happened and if it's available for download in Australia yet? I ask this because from what i've seen I think the netcode is in need of some cleaning up before I try it out online.
7 years ago
Can answer the second question, when you insert Saint's Row it automatically updates icon_smile.gif
7 years ago
Awesome review. But to me it just seems like GTA with player customisation...

Are there any major changes in gameplay, and the like?
7 years ago
Echo_Possum wrote
Awesome review. But to me it just seems like GTA with player customisation...

Are there any major changes in gameplay, and the like?
I'm going to give you a pretty major tip:
Read the Review, All lies within.
7 years ago
This is a surprise. An urban themed game, other than Grand Theft Auto that actually received a decent overal score.
7 years ago
Though the side missions sound like a lot of fun and there are quite a lot of other cool stuff,I still dont care for this game.

I hate the gangsta wannabe characters.

The paint not able to get scratched, how crap.

Only being able to recruit 3 gang members,also crap.

Only being able to drive cars, back in the days of GTA 3 this was acceptible, but who want's to only drive cars now.The bikes in GTA are such fun to drive.

Probably the worst thing about the review is the fact that he cars dont handle that good, what's the point of having cars if the handle crap?Especialy in a game like this.
7 years ago
The whole Gangsta theme is easily ignored once you realise just how much fun the game is - trust me.

I was worried about only having cars in the game too, actually. I pretty much only used bikes in San Andreas (because navigating the cities in cars was about as fun as chewing lead), but driving cars in SR is actually a lot of fun. I don't go in for this complaining about the handling - seems fine in an over-the-top arcadey way.
That said, I'm holding out hope that bikes are included in SR 2 as Volition reps have already stated that they will not appear in Downloadable content packs.
7 years ago
Gamesta wrote
Though the side missions sound like a lot of fun and there are quite a lot of other cool stuff,I still dont care for this game.

I hate the gangsta wannabe characters.

The paint not able to get scratched, how crap.

Only being able to recruit 3 gang members,also crap.

Only being able to drive cars, back in the days of GTA 3 this was acceptible, but who want's to only drive cars now.The bikes in GTA are such fun to drive.

Probably the worst thing about the review is the fact that he cars dont handle that good, what's the point of having cars if the handle crap?Especialy in a game like this.
Oh no, unscratchable paint... I hadn't even noticed as the car is either in perfect condition or on its way to being trashed icon_biggrin.gif

One of my kids mentioned that only being able to recruit 3 members wasn't enough until I mentioned that you would have to drive around in mini buses if you could recruite any more.

The handling of the cars was something I mentioned after playing the demo. I remember saying that I thought the driving wasn't as good as the GTA games and I still think thats true, but having played SR for a couple of hours now I can say that the handling isn't too bad at all. I can't say that the cars behave unpredictably as I think if anything they are too stable on the roads and a bit easy (whereas the cars in GTA always seemed on edge at high speed cornering). Also, just getting from one place to another can be made much more fun if you take hostages with you. icon_twisted.gif

The best thing about this game is that the aiming controls work, and work well. For a game that is very similar to GTA, its infinately more playable because of the controls. The combat seems to be quite easy at the start of the game but as you progress through a few missions they become more of a challenge but very enjoyable.

The insurance fraud activity seems to be most peoples favorite but it can be a bit hit and miss IMO (excuse the pun). Sometimes there just aren't enough cars to get to the required dollar target and other times it can be easy. I had a go at this activity yesterday after failing to pass level 2 a few times and the first car I hit on level 1 was an ambulance which gave me $87000 and put me straight into level 3.

The one thing that I hope the publishers/developers take advantage of with this game is to release extra content in the form of new missions. It always suprised me that Rockstar never did this for the PC versions of their games as it wouldn't require very much work to add missions to the same world and objects that are already in the game but would increase the lifespan indefinatly. With SR being on Xbox live it would be very easy for them to take advantage of market place and make extra missions/activities avaliable.
7 years ago
wobbler wrote
Gamesta wrote
Though the side missions sound like a lot of fun and there are quite a lot of other cool stuff,I still dont care for this game.

I hate the gangsta wannabe characters.

The paint not able to get scratched, how crap.

Only being able to recruit 3 gang members,also crap.

Only being able to drive cars, back in the days of GTA 3 this was acceptible, but who want's to only drive cars now.The bikes in GTA are such fun to drive.

Probably the worst thing about the review is the fact that he cars dont handle that good, what's the point of having cars if the handle crap?Especialy in a game like this.
Oh no, unscratchable paint... I hadn't even noticed as the car is either in perfect condition or on its way to being trashed icon_biggrin.gif

One of my kids mentioned that only being able to recruit 3 members wasn't enough until I mentioned that you would have to drive around in mini buses if you could recruite any more.

The handling of the cars was something I mentioned after playing the demo. I remember saying that I thought the driving wasn't as good as the GTA games and I still think thats true, but having played SR for a couple of hours now I can say that the handling isn't too bad at all. I can't say that the cars behave unpredictably as I think if anything they are too stable on the roads and a bit easy (whereas the cars in GTA always seemed on edge at high speed cornering). Also, just getting from one place to another can be made much more fun if you take hostages with you. icon_twisted.gif

The best thing about this game is that the aiming controls work, and work well. For a game that is very similar to GTA, its infinately more playable because of the controls. The combat seems to be quite easy at the start of the game but as you progress through a few missions they become more of a challenge but very enjoyable.

The insurance fraud activity seems to be most peoples favorite but it can be a bit hit and miss IMO (excuse the pun). Sometimes there just aren't enough cars to get to the required dollar target and other times it can be easy. I had a go at this activity yesterday after failing to pass level 2 a few times and the first car I hit on level 1 was an ambulance which gave me $87000 and put me straight into level 3.

The one thing that I hope the publishers/developers take advantage of with this game is to release extra content in the form of new missions. It always suprised me that Rockstar never did this for the PC versions of their games as it wouldn't require very much work to add missions to the same world and objects that are already in the game but would increase the lifespan indefinatly. With SR being on Xbox live it would be very easy for them to take advantage of market place and make extra missions/activities avaliable.
Yeah cars paint not getting scratched is'nt a big deal,It's just that I'm very good at noticing the smallest details.

You're right about tha gang recruiting,but it's good to be able to recruit more people when you just want to walk around causing mayhem.
7 years ago
Seriously, the amount of mayhem you can cause with just unrecruited gang members around you is pretty large =)
Any Saints walking around near you will attack anyone who attacks you (cops included), and attack anyone that *you* attack... which is nice sometimes, but not so much when they steal your kills =D
7 years ago
Nice post there wobbler and I agree with all your points. The cars in Gta were much more unstable at high speeds but there are some cars in Saint's Row that seem a bit floaty if you lose control or crash them aswell....but really they're not all like that and all in all i'd say the driving parts are on par with Gta.

The aiming and targeting is VASTLY superior and it almost makes the game better than gta. It's definately more fun and if Saint's Row was in it's...uh....what like 6th iteration....i'm positive it would be a better game than gta as the improvements are all for the better and they actually work flawlessly. Quite honestly the only problems with this game already exist in the Gta's.....there are only improvements in Saint's Row.

Again the only weak aspect of the whole package is the humour (not as funny as Gta and can be a little vulgar sometimes) and soundtrack (not the biggest hits in the world....but catchy nonetheless....atleast it's all licensced). Alot of this is also personal preference in all honesty.

I'm was very sceptical of getting this game as I knew nothing would top Gta....but Saint's Row is the real deal. If you like Gta....please just try it out for about 2 hours and try doing a couple of different things. Make sure you play through a couple of story missions (story missions are handled 10 x better than in Gta games and you actually get visual clues as to what you've acomplished at the end of them etc). There are just so many little improvements here and there that you probably find yourself having more fun with this than Gta because you're not spending time mucking around....just getting stuff done.

Awesome game!

Oh yea...forgot to mention....graphics are AMAZING!! There is soooo much detail on everything, especially the cars! No scratch on paint? Wtf? Are you kidding me?! Have you seen the amount of other stuff on cars?! Like nearly every panel being damageable along with being able to have it torn away from the body of the vehicle? What about the fact that all these panels actually are physical objects in the game and when cars explode and crash these panels can actually hit you, npcs or other objects ingame causing extra carnage! Who the f@#k cares about paint when there is a car door flying towards you?! One time a wheel from an exploding vehicle hit me...so I proceeded to roll it down the street.....I did this for about 10 minutes trying to keep the tyre upright.....untill I got bored and left if alone.....so these panels and debris don't just dissapear straight away. Also the texturing on the vehicles, houses and basically every object in game is surprisingly detailed! I was actually amazed that they were able to render a city of this size because it looks so good! All of it! And there is so much destructible stuff! I love destruction!!

Also I forgot to mention you can save anywhere!! Just press start and choose save and it will save all progress up till that point (and I mean ALL progress....e.g. clothes, money, weapons....anything...it's all registered). If you're in the middle of a mission....it will save everything except the progress you've made in that mission (you have to complete the mission to be able to save the progress you've made for that)...so if you change your outfits in the middle of a mission and then save it....it will remember your outfit!

Oh yea....how about the fact that each garage holds about 160 cars!! Yikes!! And if any car you take out of your garage for a spin gets left anywhere in the playfield....when you go back to your garage the car will be there (along with whatever destruction/damage that was caused to it)....but if a car gets destroyed....you go back to your garage and the car is listed there but you have to pay a fee to get that car back (e.g. on average about $500 and to fix a car from almost blow up state in the mechanic is about $500 too....so you're not getting ripped off).

Honestly I could go on and on....but i've only put in about 3 hours game time! Probably less actually....and i'm thinking it can only get better!
7 years ago
That to me sounds like it's better than GTA, if it's doing everything as well, or better than GTA (sans humour and soundtrack which are subjective anyway), then I'd assume that makes it a better game.
7 years ago
Again it comes down to personal preference....and for me....there is this feeling I get when I play Gta (ever since Vice City)...that quite honestly cannot be matched by any other game. It feels like i'm in a real place for some reason. I dunno...it must be the voice acting, the humour and the soundtrack....because it just has this vibe and quite honeslty it's the funniest sh!t i've ever heard!

Nothing will ever come close to Gta....but it doesn't stop me from enjoying games like Saint's Row.
7 years ago
ugh the boot wrote
Honestly I could go on and on....but i've only put in about 3 hours game time! Probably less actually....and i'm thinking it can only get better!
3 hours game time!! I think you're more in love with the game as opposed to playing it!

Personally after playing the demo through, I'm quite happy to save my cash and hit up some xbox live arcade action till Dead Rising. This will be a forgotten game in 6 months.
7 years ago
How rude, everything i've said is from first hand experience!

Yea you keep playing those arcade games, personally i'm not so poor where I have to pick and choose the things i like.

Don't try and justify yourself for not buying the game by slamming others for doing so.

Also it's 3 hours according to the ingame timer, which would not include all the times i've restarted (by choice).
7 years ago
Hey I've got plenty of cash, it's more about personal tastes. I just got Oden, Minish Cap and Megaman cause to fill the gap. All I was saying is, maybe your in the honeymoon period with the game. You know, where it's the best game ever until 20 hours down the track....

Anyways, arcade games I'm finding to be fun and addictive, as the release schedule was been very slim of late, on ALL consoles. Plus, Texas/Uno are a blast with heaps of players online. Not long now to holiday season gaming kicks in, thank god! Bring me FFXII, Gears of War and Nintendo love!

Anyway, that was a good review in any case, well written.
7 years ago
Hey I didn't mean that you didn't have enough money for the game...I was actually speaking about myself...but yea reading my post I could see how you got that.

The thing is my honeymoon period with the game was with the demo. I thought that's what they were for? I haven't gotten far in the game but I do know how all the important things work.

I see what you're saying though...I mean another 10 or 20 hours and I could be getting extra bored with it....kinda like Oblivion. The thing is I was only trying to point out individual aspects of the game and compare it to Gta and how they fair in comparison as everyone seems to base their decision on this (and rightly so). The thing is...even though I got really bored with Oblivion and couldn't be bothered finishing it....my opinion on the game didn't change.
7 years ago
[quote="wobbler"]
Gamesta wrote
The insurance fraud activity seems to be most peoples favorite but it can be a bit hit and miss IMO (excuse the pun). Sometimes there just aren't enough cars to get to the required dollar target and other times it can be easy. I had a go at this activity yesterday after failing to pass level 2 a few times and the first car I hit on level 1 was an ambulance which gave me $87000 and put me straight into level 3..
get a cop car before you do this activity, its so much easy. just get a cop car and crash away. biggest hit for me so far has been $210000

but saints row is a great game, espically to tid you over till the next GTA. i found that in some of the later levels it tends to become glitchy on certain missions. i had to do one mission 5 times because everytime i was playin it it would glitch up and fuck me over in that mission. but its not very common, i would definetly recommend to anyone, great game!
7 years ago
^Only discovered that last night, but thanks for the tip. I used an ambulance in one level to ram into a yellow bus (US school bus?) and it earned me $748,000 in the one hit, had to look twice to make sure the figure I was seeing was correct.

Another simple improvement that rockstar could learn from this game is the option to replay any mission after it has been completed. I know that some of the best missions in the GTA series would have been good to replay but once they were over they could never be redone without an earlier gamesave. Saints row at least gives you the option to replay any mission if you really enjoyed it.

Leon, You have said before you didn't like the GTA games so yeah, your not going to like this one aswell, no matter how much other do like it. You don't have to justify your gaming preferences to anyone but you also don't have to bag the game because your not interested. If I get 20 hrs play out of the game it will be value for money, but I think that the enjoyment comes from the mechanics of the game and not the story so the replay value would be high for me. Personally. I thought the dead rising demo was fun to play and I would love to hire the game for a week or so but I think I would be bored stiff well before 20 hours of play. The mechanics seemed good but the novelty of killing zombies with different objects would wear off after a couple of hours as they are about as difficult to kill as a nursing home level would be in any other shooting game. But if you can get 6 months enjoyment out of it, thats great and I would not want to begrudge you that.
7 years ago
Yeah, I would agree. 20 hours is a sweet spot where you can be happy with your purchase. You are correct, I am gambling on Dead Rising and it may get boring quick, but killing zombies sounds like my bag, and I love most of Capcom's work, so I'll take that bet.

I gave Saints Row demo a look, on the whim it could improve as I didn't like GTA game mechanics, but it felt very similar. But I really wish game studios would put more focus on framerate then detail. Personally I perfer a game to run at 60 fps with less detail then 25 fps with heaps of detail. One of the reason Halo 1 annoyed me, the framerate was very low. Really want Halo 3 to have a good framerate (Halo 2 was acceptable).
7 years ago
Halo 1 ran at a steady 30 fps, most first person shooters run at 60 fps, so it would've been noticable for most. I did notice it but I thought it suited console fps gaming perfectly.

Saint's Row is quite glitchy especially when sh!t hits the fan and I can imagine it getting worse, but atleast they are able to release patches and stuff for the game to clean this sort of thing up. The game has stuffed up on me only once....but like oblivion it will cough and splutter on a regular occasion.
7 years ago
ugh the boot wrote
Halo 1 ran at a steady 30 fps, most first person shooters run at 60 fps, so it would've been noticable for most. I did notice it but I thought it suited console fps gaming perfectly.
It boggles my mind how people pick up on stuff like this, I think human eyes can only see somewhere between 24 and 30 fps icon_confused.gif Also that I don't notice framerate drops unless it's so bad that the game is skipping rather than flowing.
7 years ago
I don't know about you but I can notice when a game is 'supposedly' running at 60 fps compared to 30 fps. It is noticeable but what those numbers really are could be a different story. Like a game on console usually seems like it's running at a lower frame rate. And i'm not making this up...it is definately noticeable. Like Half-Life and Halo....you must realise that Halo is a little bit more sluggish? And that's because it's running at 1/2 the frame rate of Half-Life.

I also only maily notice drops when it's skipping and not just dropping a couple of frames...e.g. Quake 4 on Xbox 360 ran fine for me.

Also it's not something I figured out myself...it's just what i've learnt from developer interviews etc but as i've already said I can 'see' the differences. Maybe i'm special....but i'm sure others can too. icon_razz.gif
7 years ago
ugh the boot wrote
Like Half-Life and Halo....you must realise that Halo is a little bit more sluggish? And that's because it's running at 1/2 the frame rate of Half-Life.
Bad example for me, I don't like Half-Life's story so I haven't played anymore than about 2 minutes of a demo. For a better example of how I don't notice framerates (perhaps I just focus on enjoying the game?) is that I can't tell the difference between Call of Duty on Intergrated Graphics on a piece of crap High School computer and a close to top of the range ATI card.
Add Comment
Like this review?
Share it with this tiny url: http://palg.nu/KQ

N4G : News for Gamers         Twitter This!

Digg!     Stumble This!

| More
  Pre-order or buy:
    PALGN recommends: www.Play-Asia.com

Australian Release Date:
  Out Now
European Release Date:
  Out Now
Publisher:
  THQ
Developer:
  Volition Inc.
Players:
  1-4, online

Read more...
Currently Popular on PALGN
Australian Gaming Bargains - 08/12/11
'Tis the season to be bargaining.
R18+ Legislation
R18+ Legislation
Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations Preview
Hands on time with the game. Chat time with the CEO of CyberConnect 2.
PALGN's Most Anticipated Games of 2007
24 titles to keep an eye on during 2007.
PALGN's Most Anticipated Games of 2008
And you thought 2007 was populated.