Home
Twitter
RSS
Newsletter
Jahanzeb Khan
25 Feb, 2010

UFC Undisputed 2010 Preview

360 Preview | Welcome to the Octagon.
We were recently invited by THQ to check out their upcoming mixed martial arts video game, Ultimate Fighting Championship Undisputed 2010. UFC Undisputed 2009 received much acclaim for being the first great UFC video game to have been released, and would go on to sell 3.5 million units worldwide and win several awards in the US. UFC Undisputed 2010 looks to build on that success and template, and it will be released for the Xbox 360, PlayStation 3 and PlayStation Portable. The build we saw was running on the Xbox 360.

UFC Undisputed 2010 uses an enhanced version of the UFC Undisputed 2009 engine. Fans can look forward to improved character models, superior photo-realistic skin textures, better lighting, realistic animations and physics, accurate collision detection and more detailed arenas. The new camera effects and presentation really capture the look and feel of a televised UFC match, while fans will certainly be pleased that it looks almost as good as the real thing.


Jaw breaker coming up!

Jaw breaker coming up!
Close

In terms of gameplay, UFC Undisputed 2010 will play much differently from last year's effort. The main improvement comes in the form of an overhauled submission system, which is now analog based, removing the need of a submission meter and button presses. Gamers will essentially spin the analog sticks around in order to lock in the submission hold successfully. At the same time, their opponent will be able to attempt to stuggle out of it. This system is quite similar to what has featured in recent WWE: SmackDown vs Raw games. While the strike-based gameplay from last year is still present and much more diverse than ever, fans can expect more realism as the new game will focus more on close range grapples, ground grapples and clinches. Another new addition is that the game will make full use of the cage walls, allowing players to trap and corner their opponent.

The game will feature several modes of play, as well as an online 'UFC Camp', which will allow a group of players to start their own online training camp. The game will of course feature a comprehensive career mode, as well as a tournament mode, title defence mode and a versus mode.

The game will feature over 100 UFC fighters, each with their respective fighting styles and signature moves. The game will add some new fighting styles such as Greco-Roman wrestling, Karate and Sambo. Players will be able to play as the likes of Gray Maynard, Joe Stevenson, Yoshihiro Akiyama and of course the current UFC Heavyweight Champion and former WWE superstar, Brock Lesnar. The game will feature other real life UFC personalities such as the commentators (complete with commentary), referees, trainers and of course, the lovely Octagon Girls.


Trapped in the octagon.

Trapped in the octagon.
Close

UFC Undisputed 2010 is shaping up to be the most detailed and comprehensive UFC game to date. The build we were shown certainly ran well and all the changes and improvements look well implemented. Fans of the sport, as well as WWE fans who have been following the Smackdown series, should keep an eye on this upcoming THQ sports venture.
Overall:
UFC Undisputed 2010 is shaping up to be the most complete UFC video game to date.

Related UFC Undisputed 2010 Content

UFC Undisputed 2010 Review
22 Jun, 2010 The Undisputed Champion of fighting games?
UFC Undisputed 2010 Preview
14 Apr, 2010 Eww... Your leg is touching mine!
UFC 2009 Undisputed Review
08 Jun, 2009 Visceral, violent and steeped in homoeroticism.
11 Comments
4 years ago
They have been very vague with this release. I hope they release a demo. How about some gameplay videos that aren't like 1min long? I'm a massive ufc fan so it's a must buy anyway but still lol.
4 years ago
Sounds promising. Will be interested to see how this goes.
4 years ago
I think I'd rather wait til EA realeases MMA. UFC 2009 is one of only two games I've returned to the store on the same day. The other game being Enchanted Arms.
4 years ago
hommus wrote
I think I'd rather wait til EA realeases MMA. UFC 2009 is one of only two games I've returned to the store on the same day. The other game being Enchanted Arms.
I found UFC to be one of the best fighters I've played. Sure, the control scheme got really in-depth but that's how the sport is.

Can't bloody wait for the next one, finally got Southpaws happening and full cage usage. icon_biggrin.gif
4 years ago
I'm not meaning to rude here, but having an in-depth sport doesn't mean you need to have a shit control system. I've done a little MMA training and even I look less clumsy than half the stuff in that game (at least it looked really clumsy when I controlled them).

Fight Night Round 4 has the best control scheme I've used in a fighting game.
4 years ago
hommus wrote
I'm not meaning to rude here, but having an in-depth sport doesn't mean you need to have a **** control system. I've done a little MMA training and even I look less clumsy than half the stuff in that game (at least it looked really clumsy when I controlled them).
I disagree in a way yet agree. The striking was pretty average, the ground game was quite good, even tho there wasn't many options, it was pass guard, get to mount and gnp their face till it's over without being bumped off.

The game was a very good opener but it will get better with age, the way they are talking about this new one, it looks like they are going to improve.

The main thing that made me angry was the loading and the menu's in career mode. That was awful.
4 years ago
I've been playing 2009 again over the last few weeks (finally got the achievement for winning the championship belt across the weightclasses through different careers an hour ago icon_smile.gif), i hope there is a definitive improvement with 2010 over 2009.

With the WWE Smackdown series, the THQ/Yukes previews/promotion promises the world year upon year, but it doesn't end up delivering as they've hyped it to be. I just hope that it isn't the same for the UFC franchise.
4 years ago
I think what the first game needed was a bit more speed to it, it felt (to me) to be really sluggish in its movements, even fighters that are insanely fast in real life just felt half speed in the game and it made things a bit harder to enjoy.

That said it was a great entry into the sport and hopefully they can improve further on 2010.
4 years ago
The game just felt clunky to me, you could see a lot of clipping and it just didn't feel like you were landing a hard shot when you did land one. In the short time I played I was knocking people out with tiny clips to the chin, it felt weak.

If EA can replicate the feel of FNR4 into their MMA game I think UFC has a lot of competition on it's hands. I hope they can get a decent stable of fighters to sign on because sooky Dana White is banning anyone that signs on with the MMA game from UFC.
4 years ago
hommus wrote
The game just felt clunky to me, you could see a lot of clipping and it just didn't feel like you were landing a hard shot when you did land one. In the short time I played I was knocking people out with tiny clips to the chin, it felt weak.
Well they did acknowledge after launch that the flash knockouts were excessive- then they patched it to be less regular.

It was pretty epic for a first attempt at the game (And s**ts on the previous UFC games that were on the PS2), I'm pretty sure the second one will dump on the first one- from the additions they're putting into the game, I can't bloody wait.
4 years ago
Can't wait for May!
I thought Undisputed 2009 was awesome. some minor issues but definitely the best MMA game the world has seen and can't wait for this one!
Add Comment
Like this preview?
Share it with this tiny url: http://palg.nu/3Vj

N4G : News for Gamers         Twitter This!

Digg!     Stumble This!

| More
  Pre-order or buy:
    PALGN recommends: www.Play-Asia.com

Australian Release Date:
  27/5/2010 (Confirmed)
Publisher:
  THQ
Genre:
  Fighting
Year Made:
  2009
Players:
  2

Read more...
Currently Popular on PALGN
Australian Gaming Bargains - 08/12/11
'Tis the season to be bargaining.
R18+ Legislation
R18+ Legislation
Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations Preview
Hands on time with the game. Chat time with the CEO of CyberConnect 2.
PALGN's Most Anticipated Games of 2007
24 titles to keep an eye on during 2007.
PALGN's Most Anticipated Games of 2008
And you thought 2007 was populated.