Home
Twitter
RSS
Newsletter
The PSP Vita Thread
Goto page Previous 1, 2, 3 ... , 25, 26, 27 Next
This forum is locked you cannot post, reply to or edit topicsThis topic is locked you cannot edit posts or make replies PAL Gaming Network Forum Index
-> General Forums, Archive
View previous topic :: View next topic
Author Message
theory
PALGN Moderator

PALGN Moderator

Status: Offline
Joined: 17 May 2005
Posts: 9112
$poons: 1275.00
Location: Melbourne
australia.gif

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:35 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
Import from Best Buy and a shipping company for $280ish price. Also, play-asia.
_________________
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message
Crank




Status: Offline
Joined: 05 Jul 2008
Posts: 1860
$poons: 838.60

blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 12:55 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
Was sorely tempted to get one... until I saw that an 8GB memory card was $70. I knew they would be expensive, but Jesus...
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message
OropherX




Status: Offline
Joined: 11 Aug 2010
Posts: 1417
$poons: 390.60

blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:21 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
admeister wrote:
*turns on his Vita* The screen...it's gorgeous! icon_drool.gif

I have to say, this is one good looking handheld! Makes my PSP 2000 look pretty shabby. One note though, the face buttons are a little smaller.


is the power button still a side spring roller? Coz my PSP 2000 doesn't turn on too well anymore coz it was getting loose, thought it was a stupid design choice -_-
_________________
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message
Ingram




Status: Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 401
$poons: 56.60
Location: Ballarat
australia.gif

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 1:27 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
3

Vote:
admeister
fatpizza
Crank
Crank wrote:
Was sorely tempted to get one... until I saw that an 8GB memory card was $70. I knew they would be expensive, but Jesus...


Surely a price error the 16Gb are about that price.

I paid $103 for my 32Gb from SuperUFO. You can now get cheaper ones from there for about $80.

I was smug as fuck this morning when the JB guy say BUT YOU'LL NEED A MEMORY CARD.

No mate, Imported one icon_wink.gif icon_cool.gif icon_cool.gif
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Crank




Status: Offline
Joined: 05 Jul 2008
Posts: 1860
$poons: 838.60

blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 3:21 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
Yeah, it was 16gb, my mistake.
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message
G3ck0




Status: Offline
Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 7516
$poons: 3.80
Location: Brisbane
australia.gif

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 4:18 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
How big are the games? Because 32gb for $100 is absolutely pathetic if this console is going to be a lot more digital than previous portables.

EDIT: I just saw Vodaphones plan for the Vita. $55 a month for 12 months. $40 of that is for the Vita, and it includes a free 4gb memory card if I buy it online. 40x12 is only $480. I'm really considering it, considering a 3G Vita is $420, and a 4gb memory card is $25 or so, it's only $35 more but I could get the Vita right now, rather than in a few months or something. What do people think of this deal?
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message Send email Visit posters website MSN Messenger
Onislash




Status: Offline
Joined: 30 Aug 2010
Posts: 51
$poons: 18.80

australia.gif

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 7:21 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
Vita in person is bigger than I expected, although the buttons seem to be smaller.. icon_confused.gif

OropherX wrote:

is the power button still a side spring roller? Coz my PSP 2000 doesn't turn on too well anymore coz it was getting loose, thought it was a stupid design choice -_-


No, its a small button thing on the top of the Vita.
_________________
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message
OropherX




Status: Offline
Joined: 11 Aug 2010
Posts: 1417
$poons: 390.60

blank.gif

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 11:00 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
did you guys get the 3G version or just wi-fi?
_________________
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message
Bronze




Status: Offline
Joined: 18 Mar 2002
Posts: 3017
$poons: 164.80
Location: Melbourne
australia.gif

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2012 11:10 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
1

Vote:
Crank
Wifi. No point in getting the 3G version, especially if you've got a smartphone with hotspot functionality (like the iPhone and Galaxy S II).
_________________
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message MSN Messenger ICQ Number
DarkYoshii




Status: Offline
Joined: 31 May 2006
Posts: 788
$poons: 23.30
Location: Brighton, Victoria
australia.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 2:14 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
Same here, only picked up a Wifi but then again I didn't want to worry about HyperSIM dramas.
_________________
Host on Australian gaming TV show Level 3
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message Send email Visit posters website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
admeister




Status: Offline
Joined: 22 Jan 2006
Posts: 13918
$poons: 982.80
Location: Melbourne
australia.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:00 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
1

Vote:
Bronze
Wi-Fi model here. I'd have preferred a 3G one, but I don't like monthly fees (or Vodafone).

I played mine for about 4 hours yesterday, loving it so far! Until I played Uncharted, I hadn't even touched the face buttons, but they work pretty well. The touchscreen is beautiful, and very responsive, using it is very natural. icon_smile.gif

Little Deviants is a surprisingly good game! It's a mini-game compilation, sure, but it's a very well made one. All the games are totally different, and they make clever use of all of the Vita's input devices. It's a game which is easy to pick up and play, but quite challenging if you want it be. I even handed it to my Dad, and he spent almost an hour playing it, he was impressed at how well the rear touchpad works. There's a game which allows you to deform the terrain to make your character roll around the levels, by pressing on the touchpad, and the first time you play it, it's an amazing feeling. icon_smile.gif
_________________


"The first person to prove that cow's milk is drinkable was very, very thirsty." - Fact Sphere.
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
Shannon




Status: Offline
Joined: 25 Mar 2006
Posts: 849
$poons: 13.20

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 8:59 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
Anyone interested in buying a Wifi vita for $310-320 in Melbourne? I just realised today that my Vita won't work with my UNI wifi... Receipt, Box, AR cards + Vita Headphones, Game Cart Case included. All in perfect nick.. only been played for less than an hour.
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message
Zhou




Status: Offline
Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 4555
$poons: 382.11
Location: Summoner's rift
nigeria.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:03 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
Just out of interest, why wont it work with uni wifi?
_________________

My flickr
i7 930 | 6gb ddr3 Ripjaws 2000 | GTX 560 | 1tb 7200rpm WD |
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
Shannon




Status: Offline
Joined: 25 Mar 2006
Posts: 849
$poons: 13.20

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:21 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
I'm thinking because its an Enterprise Network.. On my iPhone it makes me enter a username and password instead of just the usual password.
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message
Zhou




Status: Offline
Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 4555
$poons: 382.11
Location: Summoner's rift
nigeria.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:22 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
ah.. thats pretty much what my uni used to do but its been upgraded so it doesn't need to go through the extra authentication.
_________________

My flickr
i7 930 | 6gb ddr3 Ripjaws 2000 | GTX 560 | 1tb 7200rpm WD |
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
Shannon




Status: Offline
Joined: 25 Mar 2006
Posts: 849
$poons: 13.20

blank.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:25 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
Yeah i'm annoyed as now i'm going to lose $40-50 without even using the device a whole lot..
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message
G3ck0




Status: Offline
Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 7516
$poons: 3.80
Location: Brisbane
australia.gif

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 9:48 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
Couldn't you just return it?
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message Send email Visit posters website MSN Messenger
Ingram




Status: Offline
Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 401
$poons: 56.60
Location: Ballarat
australia.gif

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 1:36 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
Is it really such a big deal? Or are you planning on getting the 3G version now?
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Zhou




Status: Offline
Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 4555
$poons: 382.11
Location: Summoner's rift
nigeria.gif

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2012 8:23 pm Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
Is there a list/wiki somewhere that lists all games that need an online pass?

Looking at getting mvc3, dynasty warrriors and army corp of hell via the US PSN. If any of those need an online pass to play with AU players then I guess I'll have to get them local or via ozameshop.

O and also, looking at getting a persona game from US psn. Just to see what all this fuss is about.
_________________

My flickr
i7 930 | 6gb ddr3 Ripjaws 2000 | GTX 560 | 1tb 7200rpm WD |
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
DarkYoshii




Status: Offline
Joined: 31 May 2006
Posts: 788
$poons: 23.30
Location: Brighton, Victoria
australia.gif

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 1:45 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
1

Vote:
Zhou
I can confirm that Marvel has no Online Pass. Well at least the Japanese version didn't. My digital download of Dynasty Warriors didn't have one either.
_________________
Host on Australian gaming TV show Level 3
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message Send email Visit posters website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
admeister




Status: Offline
Joined: 22 Jan 2006
Posts: 13918
$poons: 982.80
Location: Melbourne
australia.gif

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2012 9:58 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
1

Vote:
Zhou
My copies of Uncharted and Katamari didn't have online passes either. Looking at the PS Store, it appears that only Everybody's Golf, Reality Fighters and Wipeout 2048 require them. icon_smile.gif

Interestingly, it seems that JB and Harvey Norman are the only stores stocking Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus locally. It's not a big issue though, it's much cheaper to buy it from the PSN Store anyway.
_________________


"The first person to prove that cow's milk is drinkable was very, very thirsty." - Fact Sphere.
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
admeister




Status: Offline
Joined: 22 Jan 2006
Posts: 13918
$poons: 982.80
Location: Melbourne
australia.gif

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 3:30 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
Has anybody else been able to pair up their iPhone with their Vita? I thought IIveyive it a shot so that I can use Near while out and about, but it doesn't work. In the Vita's Bluetooth section, the console will detect my iPhone, and will come up with a pairing code which will also show up on my iPhone. However, when I try to confirm the pairing, a message saying "Could not find a profile supported by the PS Vita system" always pops up. So, no dice. My phone has the Vita listed in its list of registered devices, but the Vita just won't do the same.

Looks like that idea that people had of using their iPhone's personal hotspots instead of a 3G Vita may not work out. icon_sad.gif
_________________


"The first person to prove that cow's milk is drinkable was very, very thirsty." - Fact Sphere.
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
Appel




Status: Offline
Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 2583
$poons: 34.60
Location: Mt Eliza, Melbourne
blank.gif

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:15 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
Why not use wifi hotspot?
_________________
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message
rankodour




Status: Offline
Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 627
$poons: 81.00

blank.gif

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 9:16 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
Looks like that idea that people had of using their iPhone's personal hotspots instead of a 3G Vita may not work out.

Can't you just create a wireless access point using your iPhone and connect the Vita using wifi? Or does the iPhone only allow personal hotspot connection via bluetooth?
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message
Zhou




Status: Offline
Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 4555
$poons: 382.11
Location: Summoner's rift
nigeria.gif

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:08 am Post subject: Reply with quote

Score:
0

Vote:
you can do both. bt tether and wifi hotspot. Don't get my vita for another 6 days..curses.
_________________

My flickr
i7 930 | 6gb ddr3 Ripjaws 2000 | GTX 560 | 1tb 7200rpm WD |
Back to top
Trade $poons with user View users profile Send private message Visit posters website
Display posts from previous:
This forum is locked you cannot post, reply to or edit topicsThis topic is locked you cannot edit posts or make replies PAL Gaming Network Forum Index
-> General Forums, Archive
All times are GMT + 11 Hours
Goto page Previous 1, 2, 3 ... , 25, 26, 27 Next
Page 26 of 27


Jump to: 
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum