Home
Twitter
RSS
Newsletter
Denny Markovic
03 May, 2010

Super Street Fighter IV Review

PS3 Review | It's super!
It’s no secret that we folk here at PALGN loved last year’s Street Fighter IV, awarding it a 9 out of 10 and praising it for its spectacular debut on the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. Following its huge sales success came a PC port, then eventually the announcement of a new version in development, named Super Street Fighter IV. Some of us couldn’t help but groan a little, in that in today’s day and age, upgraded versions such as this could be easily seen as quick cash-ins to a popular franchise. That being said though, Capcom have surprised us in a great way, as Super Street Fighter IV is not just some cash-in upgrade.

Indeed, Capcom have successfully managed to further refine the gameplay and overall quality in Super Street Fighter IV that it’s almost worth purchasing again, and at nearly half the price of the original to boot. To begin with, Super Street Fighter IV tends to feel more fluid and refined in its mechanics. This isn’t to say that the original was not fluid; in fact, it’s arguable that Street Fighter IV was the best fighting game released last year. But Capcom seem to have further refined and polished the mechanics behind the game, so it will likely be far more noticeable to the competitive and hardcore fan base, as they will see where the balances and tweaks really lie. As for the casual fan base, the game is simply more accessible and even more enjoyable, particularly because there are even more characters and features to use now.

The crowd have a great view of Chun-Li.

The crowd have a great view of Chun-Li.
Close
Super Street Fighter IV introduces a total of 10 extra characters to use in the game. These range from older characters from the older games, such as T.Hawk and Dee Jay, to entirely new characters such as Juri and Hakkan, who bring entirely new fighting styles to the table. None of the new additions feel out of place either – they all fit in nicely into the roster of Street Fighter characters, and considering how often we’ve seen Juri being used in the game’s online component, they seem to be awfully popular. Apart from new characters though, older characters all gain an additional Ultra move and tweaks to their move list, so relearning and remastering each character will be a task many players will likely sink many hours into. Oh, and did we mention all characters are now unlocked from the get-go? We think that’s a God-send, because it let’s you jump straight into the Multiplayer component without worrying about unlocking your favourite character.

Apart from the additions to the character roster, you’ve also got a fair amount of new modes and features to play with in both Single Player and Multiplayer. With the Single Player mode, Arcade feels a lot more balanced, with medium now feeling like medium rather than ‘medium-for-three-matches-then-it-gets-really-difficult’. They’ve also added some old school mini-games from the days of old in between fights, such as trying to destroy a car in 60 seconds, or destroying as many oncoming barrels as possible. Rival battles are great now too, with lines of dialogue being said throughout a fight, intensifying the match between the rival opponents.

Shut up woman get on my horse.

Shut up woman get on my horse.
Close
It’s Multiplayer however that’s seen the biggest improvement, not only from a features perspective but a technical one too. Match making is now much better on both the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3, with region locking now an option and matches being found and connected to quickly and very easily. Titles and Icons are once again around for unlocking as you accumulate wins and losses, and new modes have been added for diversity in the Multiplayer environment, including Team Battles, and Endless Mode which is our personal favourite. Endless Mode connects multiple players to one server, and each take turns in fighting the victor of the last match. It never ends until you really want it too and can be set up for private matches between friends, so this will surely be the most popular addition to the Multiplayer segment. There’s also a replay feature which we’ve only toyed around with a little bit, but it essentially allows you to watch and save replays from all around the world. Functionality is a little confusing initially, but once you get the hang of it, it’s a nifty feature to use and will surely come in handy for those who want to save their most memorable fights.

Super Street Fighter IV is some of the best value we’ve seen in a game in a long, long time. The already excellent gameplay from Street Fighter IV is here, just further refined and polished into an even more powerful package, and with a boatload of extra content to boot. You’ve also got a new intro which, though pretty superficial, is awesome in its own right anyway, and there’s plenty of new music and audio effects which, though subtle, are much better suited to the game. Capcom seem to have everything that was great about Street Fighter IV and made it even better, then added another extra coat of polish over the things that players didn’t quite like, and put a budget price point as the icing. If you’re any kind of Street Fighter fan, this is an essential purchase, and if you’re on the fence about it, well now’s the time to pick it up, as Super Street Fighter IV simply sets in stone the franchises status as one of the best fighting games around. Fantastic stuff.
The Score
Super Street Fighter IV is not just some money-grubbing upgrade, it's a revamp and re-energisation of a fantastic game. Must buy for anyone even considering it. 9
Looking to buy this game right now? PALGN recommends www.Play-Asia.com.

Related Super Street Fighter IV Content

Super Street Fighter IV 3DS to feature mysterious collaboration
25 Jan, 2011 Who, or what, could it be?
No more Street Fighter IV expansions
15 Jul, 2010 Capcom believes that too much is a bad thing.
Hakan joins the Super Street Fighter IV cast
11 Mar, 2010 Some oily dude.
35 Comments
3 years ago
In-deeee-struc-table!!!!!!!!
3 years ago
Spot on review Denny. SSF4 is what SF4 should've been; it feels right and complete. A definite pickup!
3 years ago
Good review, but I can't believe a game gets a 9 and other high scores because it fixes up things that should have been done right the first time around.

The constant updates to Street Fighter games wouldn't be accepted by fans of any other game franchise. How many versions of SF2 are there?

Imagine if Call of Duty released 3 or 4 "new" versions of Modern Warfare 2 with a couple of new levels and a few additional tweaks to the gameplay here and there. There is no way people would buy it or give it 9.
3 years ago
But this isn't just an incremental update. If you play the game you can see how much work went into the title. It's certainly not a DLC type of update or a cash in. It's a complete labor of love for the fans.

Personally I'd give it a 10. The changes, modes, characters all make the game seem brand new and even though I put 220+ hours into the first, I don't know what to do with myself every time I boot the game. The online mode endless is the best addition. It's flawless and a great social experience.

Maybe from a casual point it's just the same game on the surface. But anybody who played the first in any great detail is just in love.
3 years ago
Great review Denny. I'm loving me some SSFIV right now with the greatly improved multi.

JP2daMC wrote
I can't believe a game gets a 9 and other high scores because it fixes up things that should have been done right the first time around.
It's not like the first game was broken, it still played extremely well. Capcom have taken a good thing and buffed all the sharp edges off making it even better.

JP2daMC wrote
Imagine if Call of Duty released 3 or 4 "new" versions of Modern Warfare 2 with a couple of new levels and a few additional tweaks to the gameplay here and there.
I like how your example is a sequel and will undoubtedly have more sequels to come. But a better example would probably be Halo:ODST - if you ignore the story (no one really cares about fighting games story mode that much) then that's exactly what happened isn't it?.
3 years ago
JP2daMC wrote
Imagine if Call of Duty released 3 or 4 "new" versions of Modern Warfare 2 with a couple of new levels and a few additional tweaks to the gameplay here and there. There is no way people would buy it or give it 9.
Have you played it yet? SSFIV is a very different game to SFIV, I had no interest in the game when it was announced because I thought a DLC approach would be better but this is a huge change to the game.
3 years ago
JP2daMC wrote
Good review, but I can't believe a game gets a 9 and other high scores because it fixes up things that should have been done right the first time around.
I admit that I actually thought this prior to playing the game as well. However after spending 10+ hours on it over the weekend, it's quite clear how much better it actually is. Everything has been polished to such a shine and so many new features were added, that it practically eclipses SFIV entirely. That and considering the price point, it's extremely good value for any gamer. Casual gamers who have the original may not want to pick it up, but the hardcore and fence sitters are pretty much getting a super-charged SF IV for half the price. It's some seriously outstanding value for money that's for sure.
3 years ago
Good stuff Denny. Really put the nail on the head.
3 years ago
Quote
no one really cares about fighting games story mode that much
i do, i wish there were more fluent fighting games that had a story mode, preferably a 3d walk around i mean, not just scenes.....i loved mortal kombat deception for instance, but hate the other kombat games.
If there was a street fighter where you could go around with your favourite character having challenges and learning new moves, i would buy that.....

I also wish that the map mode from soul calibur 3 made it back into 4 instead of that tower mode.....but oh wells.
3 years ago
Fetidchimp wrote
Quote
no one really cares about fighting games story mode that much
i do, i wish there were more fluent fighting games that had a story mode, preferably a 3d walk around i mean, not just scenes.....i loved mortal kombat deception for instance, but hate the other kombat games.
If there was a street fighter where you could go around with your favourite character having challenges and learning new moves, i would buy that.....

I also wish that the map mode from soul calibur 3 made it back into 4 instead of that tower mode.....but oh wells.
Tekken 6 had that, titled 'Scenario Campaign'. It was a big flop.
3 years ago
haven't tried it...sounds like they made it too generic
3 years ago
Fair enough to all comments, but I just think that the SF series gets a whole lot more leniency than other games in regards to what is essentially 50% recycled content. It's not like they built the game from the ground up again in terms of graphics and gameplay. They refined and rebalanced things and added some characters, many of whom are recycled themselves. But yes, it is at a cheap price point so that's the pay off.

However, if other games released better versions in a year or so (not including Game of the Year versions) that made the game I owned redundant, I'd be equally annoyed.

To me it's a bit like when they released LOTR on DVD in a two-disk set and then in a year they released an extended 4 disk version(which they appear to be doing again on Blu-ray). Everyone knew that there would be another version of SF4.

It annoys me that this is so accepted now in many forms of entertainment.

Thanks for listening icon_smile.gif
3 years ago
OK so you really have no idea what you are talking about now. No character added is like any other character. None. Maybe Deejay borders Guile, but even then that's unfair because he is more aggressive-type. They are all unique in terms of the SF universe. This isn't Tekken where they have a 'mirror' with a different move for almost every character.

Plus it's 10 characters, all new, no copies. That's the entire cast of Blazblue. Can you imagine how much effort it takes to balance 10 new characters in a established cast of 25? Hours and HOURS to play testing. What about a new Ultra for every character?

I see your point but fighting games are a bit different. It may not be Street Fighter 5, but it's certainly Street Fighter 4.9. Capcom could have just pumped out a DLC pack with a handful of characters and tweaks but they did the right thing and did a full blown reinvention of the game.

Maybe you would have a soapbox if it was $100. You have to remember we Australians are getting the short stick of the price point yet again. It's $40 US (25 quid/40 euro), which is normally $60 US for a new game. So technically the game SHOULD have been around $65 here.

If you look at that price point, are you still complaining? Probably not.
3 years ago
Fetidchimp wrote
Quote
no one really cares about fighting games story mode that much
i do, i wish there were more fluent fighting games that had a story mode, preferably a 3d walk around i mean, not just scenes.....i loved mortal kombat deception for instance, but hate the other kombat games.
If there was a street fighter where you could go around with your favourite character having challenges and learning new moves, i would buy that.....
Ok so there are exceptions to my generic statement but you sound like you want more of an RPG with an in-depth fighting system =)
3 years ago
LeonJ - I'm not going to win this one going by your profile pic icon_smile.gif but I'll just clarify my point by saying that 8 or so of the 'new' characters have already appeared in the SF series, so it's not exactly 'new' in terms of their moves, look and back stories.

I realise the effort that went in, but this game was turned around in a year. The production cycle for an entirely new game is usually 3 years or more. So they should only charge half price because their costs are presumably lower for a one-year cycle. I guess I'm a cynic, but I can't help but feel we've been made to pay one and half times for the game it could have been at the start. I also reckon they were working on these new characters when they released SF4 with every intention of making this game.

But as Denny said, if you were purchasing this for the first time, the value for money is undeniably good.
3 years ago
LeonJ wrote
OK so you really have no idea what you are talking about now.
That was a bit uncalled for.
3 years ago
JP2daMC wrote
I also reckon they were working on these new characters when they released SF4 with every intention of making this game.
Capcom have stated that Deejay and T-Hawk were originally slated for SFIV and got moved to Super, so yes they were working on some of the extra characters before SFIV release. That's not really unusual with different parts of the team ramping up and down over time though.
3 years ago
JP2daMC wrote
However, if other games released better versions in a year or so (not including Game of the Year versions) that made the game I owned redundant, I'd be equally annoyed.
Fair enough if you don't want to buy into yearly iterations. Just bear in mind not everyone will feel like you do. I like that you brought up Call of Duty as an example so I will use it.

Call of Duty - 2003
Call of Duty 2 - 2005
Call of Duty 3 - 2006
Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare - 2007
Call of Duty: World at War - 2008
Call of Duty 4: Modern Warefare 2 - 2009
Call of Duty: Black Ops 2010

Despite being preceded by yearly iterations for several years MW2 went on to sell fantastically. I think there is a place for yearly iterations of games and I am looking forward to getting my copy of SSFIV to replace my copy of SFIV. That said, I think it is important consumers know how the release cycle of a game will affect what they are buying.
3 years ago
This is a brand new game, adding 10 fighters to the mix is an incredible addition especially when you consider the new blazblue gets an extra two fighters.

If not for demon's souls, SFIV would have been easily GOTY for me last year... you don't have to be a expert to enjoy SFIV, im terrible at the game, but the game is awesome and the game design feels right! it brings back awesome arcade memories of SFII... how many games have been remade and bombed? to be 100% honest i know not many people will agree with me but New Super Mario Bros, did not capture the magic of SMB3 and SMBW. But SFIV DOES do it for me! It completely revamps the game for the modern age. Its moved on with the audience. it was such a ballsy move with the art style.

Anyways i normally wouldn't say this as I reckon most GOTY editions are bollocks, but this could have been a full price game.

And also I dont see why people should want to mark the game down because it is essentially SFIV... if the game is a 9 but because it was the same as last year therefore it deserves an 8 because i would rather save my '9's for more original games is just silly (IMO). excuse my rambling!

And JP2daMC - i agree with you - but SF nuts spend upwards of 100+ hours, getting SSFIV as a new game and not incremental downloads is a good thing. SF gets leniency cause its cream of the crop, i wouldn't spend an extra $100 on a fallout 3 GOTY or Little Big Planet GOTY edition because by and large it is the same game and same experience with some random weapon or costumes and side quests... for SF nuts - you can bet there's another 100+ hours down the drain.

The only downside to all this is that its turned my SFIV into a drink coaster.
3 years ago
JP2daMC wrote
So they should only charge half price because their costs are presumably lower for a one-year cycle.
So all those Guitar Hero and Tony Hawk games over the years should have been half price too? (admittedly yes, a few of the latter ones) There are plenty of games put out in 12 months that are worth full price, give SSFIV a rent and you will see that it is a worthy game in itself, even if you already own SFIV. If anything I would compare it to the Subsistence, etc version of MGS. A deluxe version that improves on the original in every conceivable way.

If SSFIV was just a quick cash in with a few feature that could have been DLC thrown in then I would agree with your principle of revisioning. As it stands this game leaves SFIV for dead, I couldn't imagine going back to the basic version at all.
3 years ago
Fair enough if they weren't also releasing paid DLC for SSF4, which apparently they intent to. So they are getting you every which way. People attack Tiger Woods golf and other EA titles for essentially the same thing - whether or not they innovate the gameplay. Those games are never full price either.

The point Bowie makes is a good one, although in COD's case they actually have two completely different teams making the game each year so you really do get a different sort of game.

Arnok - your last point is the one that irks me. They made SF4 redundant and it has no value in resale either. Same as with the LOTR example.

Anyway, I'll stop my complaining now. Put your hadoukens away!
3 years ago
LeonJ wrote
This isn't Tekken where they have a 'mirror' with a different move for almost every character.
What? Don't get me started Leon. icon_annoyed.gif

Every character is unique in both playstyles and movesets. >_>
3 years ago
Capcom are rats in the DLC game, but the paid DLC in this case is optionally content i.e. costumes. They have planned DLC for June is a new mode, which is free. Capcom have cleared stated that the game modes are free (like with SFIV).

Just like FIFA, NBA or any EA title which is just a re-branded game at FULL RRP which is instantly a disc holder with each revision. About about a re-branded World Cup FIFA game at RRP?

I mean, it's totally unfair to write this off as a cash-in. There are WAY WAY better examples of companies doing the dirty. I think you are getting confused with the SF2 iterations. This is certainly not just a faster speed tweak and a few more colours.

What's wrong with a full year development on top of a game already established engine? COD games are being pumped yearly @ out 5 hour campaigns using the same engine and online framework at $120 a pop. Are you complaining about that?

Yeah I am a mad SF support and clearly you aren't. Just 'irks' me you are having a go at a game which is made for and primary because the fans. This is the sort of attention to detail we want more of, not COD yearly cash ins and World Cup editions of FIFA 10.
3 years ago
ZeroX03 wrote
LeonJ wrote
This isn't Tekken where they have a 'mirror' with a different move for almost every character.
What? Don't get me started Leon. icon_annoyed.gif

Every character is unique in both playstyles and movesets. >_>
Look into your heart. For you know it to be true.
Add Comment
Like this review?
Share it with this tiny url: http://palg.nu/40O

N4G : News for Gamers         Twitter This!

Digg!     Stumble This!

| More
  Pre-order or buy:
    PALGN recommends: www.Play-Asia.com

Australian Release Date:
  29/04/2010 (Confirmed)
Publisher:
  THQ
Genre:
  Fighting
Year Made:
  2008
Players:
  2

Read more...
Currently Popular on PALGN
Australian Gaming Bargains - 08/12/11
'Tis the season to be bargaining.
R18+ Legislation
R18+ Legislation
Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations Preview
Hands on time with the game. Chat time with the CEO of CyberConnect 2.
PALGN's Most Anticipated Games of 2007
24 titles to keep an eye on during 2007.
PALGN's Most Anticipated Games of 2008
And you thought 2007 was populated.