03 Jun, 2005

SingStar Pop Preview

PS2 Preview | It's time to bust out the mic again.
Since the first Singstar title was released a mere thirteen months ago, it has seen the release of Singstar Party and now Singstar Popworld will be gracing the Playstation 2. For the uninitiated, Singstar, a karaoke game, is Studio London's latest brainchild. Players are given two microphones and have a choice of thirty music videos to sing along too.

The concept is relatively simple, but is an incredible party game that never really captured our attention for too long in singleplayer mode. Despite the singleplayer aspect of the game needing touching up, the Singstar series has topped the charts twice worldwide, and Sony are hoping that Singstar Popworld will do the same thing.

There are some new features in the game which expand on the features of the two predecessors. "Rap Scoring" mode allows the player to gain extra points as you battle against your crew to see who is the master of the mic. Get On Da Mic, eat your heart out.

Medley mode is also new to this Singstar. In this mode, short segments of five different songs are strung together, challenging would-be pop stars to think fast and score high before the tune changes.

Player one is thrashing player two

Player one is thrashing player two
Aside from these two modes there isn't too much new to the series, but we can't think of much else that Studio London can add (except maybe a more extensive singleplayer mode). New voice filters have been added which will be a fun, if not short-lived, novelty.

Surprisingly, the track list is not just made up of pop offerings. This is a huge relief, and the twenty international tracks and ten Australian exclusive tracks look varied enough. The song list seems like it is going to be the best in a Singstar compilation yet.

    Australian Songs:
  • Spazzy’s - My Boyfriend’s Back
  • Shannon Noll - What About Me
  • Missy Higgins - Scar
  • INXS - New Sensation
  • Delta Goodrem - Born to Try
  • Evermore - It’s too Late
  • Natasha Bedingfield - These Words
  • Savage Garden - To the Moon & Back
  • Bic Runga - Sway
  • Kylie Minogue - In Your Eyes

    International Songs:
  • Ashlee Simpson - Pieces Of Me
  • Avril Lavigne - Sk8er Boi
  • Beyonce - Crazy in Love
  • Black Eyed Peas - Shut Up
  • Good Charlotte - I Wanna Live
  • Hoobastank - The Reason
  • Jamelia - Stop
  • Manfred Man - Do Wah Diddy
  • Robbie Williams - Let Me Entertain You
  • Ronan Keating & Ysuf Islam - Father and Son
  • Sister Sledge - We Are Family
  • Steppenwolf - Born to be Wild
  • The Clash - Should I Stay or Should I Go?
  • Tom Jones - It’s Not Unusual
  • Dandy Warhols - Bohemian Like You
  • Fountains of Wayne - Stacy’s Mom
  • Erik B. and Rakim - Paid in Full
  • Blink 182 - What’s My Age Again
  • Outkast - Roses
  • Robbie Williams & Kylie Minogue - Kids

It's a pretty impressive track list, but we cannot help but feel that the price tag is still a little steep. If you're playing Singstar for the first time, you can pick up the game and two microphones for $99.95 (which is really good value), but the standalone game retails for $49.95. Considering thirty tracks is equal to a music CD, we would have preferred the price to be around $29.95, but we can keep dreaming.

And this guy is considered cute by 12 year old girls?

And this guy is considered cute by 12 year old girls?
Singstar PopWorld will be out on June 24th for the Playstation 2. PALGN will have a review of the game as soon as possible, so stay tuned.
Sounds promising, but how will we sound?

Related SingStar Pop Content

SingStar Pop Review
03 Jul, 2005 12 months since the original game comes the three-quel.
New SingStar track list revealed
25 Mar, 2005 Good Charlotte, Beyonce and Marilyn Manson to invade living rooms everywhere soon.
Next SingStar due this May
15 Mar, 2005 No name announced yet, but the next installment will include an all-new “rap showdown mode”. First details inside.
Add Comment
Like this preview?
Share it with this tiny url: http://palg.nu/17I

N4G : News for Gamers         Twitter This!

Digg!     Stumble This!

| More
  Pre-order or buy:
    PALGN recommends: www.Play-Asia.com

Australian Release Date:
  21/06/2007 (Released)
Standard Retail Price:
  $49.95 AU
  Sony Computer Entertainment
Year Made:

Currently Popular on PALGN
Australian Gaming Bargains - 08/12/11
'Tis the season to be bargaining.
R18+ Legislation
R18+ Legislation
Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations Preview
Hands on time with the game. Chat time with the CEO of CyberConnect 2.
PALGN's Most Anticipated Games of 2007
24 titles to keep an eye on during 2007.
PALGN's Most Anticipated Games of 2008
And you thought 2007 was populated.