Home
Twitter
RSS
Newsletter
Jahanzeb Khan
21 Aug, 2009

Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World Preview

Wii Preview | Another great Tale heading to our shores.
The year 2005 was special for Australian RPG fans, as it marked the very first time a Tales videogame officially made it to these shores - we are of course referring to Tales of Symphonia. The game wowed us with its unique battle system, coined as the ‘linear motion’ battle system and also had an interesting skit system that made the characters and their relationships far more interesting. A major drought followed as Tales of Legendia and the highly acclaimed Tales of the Abyss were complete no shows.

Thankfully, a few of the handheld outings made it here but it wasn’t until last month that we finally saw the first major Tales console release since Symphonia, the fantastic Tales of Vesperia, which is arguably the best Japanese RPG you can currently find on the Xbox 360. Luckily for us, there will be yet another new Tales videogame heading to Australia in November 2009, titled Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World - a direct sequel to Tales of Symphonia.

Linear motion battle system returns once more, arguably the most entertaining JRPG battle system.

Linear motion battle system returns once more, arguably the most entertaining JRPG battle system.
Close
Dawn of the New World takes place roughly two years after the events of the original and is the first time a game from the main series has been given sequel treatment. A few years back Square-Enix tried something similar with Final Fantasy X by releasing Final Fantasy X-2, a game that offered fan service along with a solid RPG experience. Dawn of the New World looks to be targeted at die hard fans of Symphonia, the most popular of all Tales games.

The game will retain Symphonia’s battle system but will also include some of the new elements that were introduced in Tales of Vesperia and Tales of the Abyss, the most notable being the flexible 3D movement. The battles will still be conducted in real time with plenty of team tactics and a combo system reminiscent of an action game. The controls will be a mix of traditional button mashing and some Wii remote gestures, allowing gamers to map several special attacks in unique combinations.

Some of the interesting features worth noting include a Pokemon style monster raising aspect. Gamers will be able to collect and raise the monsters that they fight in the game. However, the most significant change has to be the removal of the field map, replaced instead with menu navigation. Other than that, gamers can expect some additional content for the PAL release.

A prettier Symphonia.

A prettier Symphonia.
Close
Visually the game looks nice and has the same vibrant and colourful anime quality look that the Tales games are known for. The game clearly lacks the same graphical punch of Tales of Vesperia but it is still a fine looking Nintendo Wii RPG that retains the aesthetic beauty that these games are praised for. Think of it as prettier looking Symphonia.

The soundtrack will essentially be a rearrangement of the original Symphonia soundtrack and will have some new pieces. The game will be fully voiced in English, Namco-Bandai have so far done a decent job with English voice acting in their recent games, Dawn of the New World will hopefully keep up with this recent trend.

Dawn of the New World looks to be another solid entry in the Tales series and may potentially be the killer application RPG for the Nintendo Wii just as original Symphonia was for the GameCube. The main question here is that since this is a sequel, will it appeal to those who missed out on the original?
Overall:
Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World aims to make a similar impact as its predecessor did. We are certainly looking forward to this upcoming release and hope that these games continue to arrive at our shores, better late than never.

Related Content

Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World heading to Wii
24 Apr, 2009 Coming to Australia this spring.
Tales of Vesperia release confirmed
26 Mar, 2009 When late is better than never.
Tales of Eternia Review
14 Feb, 2006 Rejoice! The PSP gets a proper RPG.
9 Comments
4 years ago
i heared the PAL version will have new contents for this, just gallery and stuff..

still every new thing is welcomed =D
4 years ago
I just imported this from Play asia. bummer if they did indeed added new things but so far i'm having fun. I want Vesperia on PS3 and in English, but i'm sure it won't ever happen
4 years ago
Chances are that there will be an Asian version of Vesperia released in English, after all, they had one for the 360.

Hmm... This might actually convince me to dust off the Wii... Tales of Symphonia after all was the first game I reviewed for PALGN icon_smile.gif
4 years ago
Namco hates the PAL territory. Missing out on their good RPGs and only getting the mediocre or crappy ones is their usual game. I'm still surprised we even got Tales of Vesperia.

Additionally you've got to question why it has taken so long for this to release here. Japanese release was June 26, 2008. US release was November 11 2008. PAL release is November 13 2009. A year and a half has to be one of the longest waits for a PAL release of a JRPG ever.

Thing is, the game's pretty heavily flawed. Symphonia for all its popularity is certainly one of the better Tales games, but both Abyss and Vesperia are far better. This sequel ends up focusing too much on their silly monsters-in-the-party mechanism and not enough on building their actual characters. The difficulty is very inconsistent and spiky, and the leveling feels like it hasn't been tuned properly. Tales games are usually designed such that if you don't actively avoid battles, you will generally never be underleveled or overleveled for a given area, without any real need to deliberately grind extra levels. In Dawn of the New World I've been feeling significantly underleveled for quite a while.

Also there's the fact that the main character is irritatingly weak and pathetic. I'm assuming that at some point in the game he'll man up and grow a pair. Hopefully sooner rather than later.

Something not mentioned here is that all the skits in the game are voiced. It's not a half-assed localisation like Tales of Symphonia or Tales of the Abyss, they've actually dubbed all the dialogue that was in the Japanese edition for once.

The PAL version will have some minor extras but not anything to get wildly excited over, it's nothing like the enhancements being made to the PS3 edition of Tales of Vesperia.
4 years ago
Quote
Something not mentioned here is that all the skits in the game are voiced. It's not a half-assed localisation like Tales of Symphonia or Tales of the Abyss, they've actually dubbed all the dialogue that was in the Japanese edition for once.
Right, I just mentioned that the game is "fully voiced" but I could have been more specific.
4 years ago
NegativeZero wrote
but both Abyss and Vesperia are far better.
Ugh, Abyss was the first, and only, RPG I could not bring myself to finish. I was soooo bored and irritated by the cast.

But Symphonia is def in my top 10 RPGs. I'll buy Vesperia soon once I'm done with Star Ocean 4.
4 years ago
stick_theory wrote
NegativeZero wrote
but both Abyss and Vesperia are far better.
Ugh, Abyss was the first, and only, RPG I could not bring myself to finish. I was soooo bored and irritated by the cast.
I really enjoyed Abyss and Luke was a character I could relate to..icon_razz.gif
4 years ago
I suspect your 22/04/2009 (Confirmed) release date is a little inaccurate
4 years ago
WTF - wheres the PS3 version !
Add Comment
Like this preview?
Share it with this tiny url: http://palg.nu/3DD

N4G : News for Gamers         Twitter This!

Digg!     Stumble This!

| More
  Pre-order or buy:
    PALGN recommends: www.Play-Asia.com

Australian Release Date:
  15/11/2009 (Tentative)
Publisher:
  Namco Bandai Partners (Atari)
Genre:
  RPG
Year Made:
  2009
Players:
  1

Read more...
Currently Popular on PALGN
Australian Gaming Bargains - 08/12/11
'Tis the season to be bargaining.
R18+ Legislation
R18+ Legislation
Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations Preview
Hands on time with the game. Chat time with the CEO of CyberConnect 2.
PALGN's Most Anticipated Games of 2007
24 titles to keep an eye on during 2007.
PALGN's Most Anticipated Games of 2008
And you thought 2007 was populated.