Home
Twitter
RSS
Newsletter
Jahanzeb Khan
18 Aug, 2010

Mega Man Zero Collection Review

DS Review | A Mega portable collection indeed.
The Gameboy Advance was a pretty awesome game console that had a large library of awesome games that were at least on par with the mediocre casual atrocities (shame we can’t say the same about the DS). Stellar RPGs, nicely designed FPS titles and the usual Pokemon games aside, the console was a 2D action platformer machine. The console was home to some amazing action platformers but the three main juggernauts were Castlevania, Metroid and Mega Man Zero. Not too long ago, Mega Man Zero Collection was released in Australia at a generous price of just $30. As the name clearly suggests, Mega Man Zero Collection is a compilation game that has all the Mega Man Zero games that were released for the Gameboy Advance. You get all four Mega Man Zero games in their original form with perfect emulations that feel right at home on the DS.

The Mega Man Zero series has a really cool story, and it’s very important that you play these games from the very start, instead jumping straight into Mega Zero 4 with the assumption that it’s the best game in the package. The plot takes place over a hundred years after the Mega Man X series and the first game starts off with a girl named Ciel awakening a legendary Maverick Hunter called ‘Zero’, who apparently is the same Zero from the Mega Man X series (or is he?). You soon learn that the current government is attacking innocent Reploids, on the justification that they could turn into Mavericks. What’s crazier is that a certain legendary Maverick Hunter is responsible for this tyranny. The new Zero accepts the responsibility of helping these Reploids, but still questions his identity. We won’t give more away, but we can tell you that Zero’s saga is a memorable one and well worth experiencing from start to finish, the plot is as cool as what we saw in the Mega Man X series. Nothing too fancy or artsy but what's there is dramatic, interesting and nicely done.

The core mechanics of these games are much like the 2D Mega Man X games (not the awful 2D/3D ones). Zero handles almost the same in terms of the dashing, wall jumping and overall feel. His main weapon is the trademark Mega Man blaster than can be charged up for a powerful shot, then you also have the original Zero’s trademark weapon, the saber. At first, these games almost feel exactly like the Mega Man X games, which is hardly a bad thing but thankfully there’s much more to these games. For one thing it has strong RPG elements as you can upgrade weapons and abilities, and there are some light RPG town elements where you interact with NPCs and such. Then there are the Cyber Elves, these weird critters grant you all sorts of different status upgrades, abilities and enhancements. Finally, you even get elemental upgrades to your weapons. So while the core mechanics are similar to what can be found in Mega Man X games, there are enough different features to make the Mega Man Zero games feel distinct.

Zero has some cool tricks up his sleeve.

Zero has some cool tricks up his sleeve.
Close
In terms of game structure and such, Mega Man Zero series is not much different from what we’ve seen in most traditional Mega Man games, apart from the light RPG elements. The stages are loaded with challenging platforming elements and tough enemies that will put your gaming skills and reflexes to the test, the level designs are well thought out and offer a very challenging and satisfying experience. Mega Man games have always been known for their notoriously difficult and challenging bosses and the Mega Man Zero games are no exception, this game has punishing bosses right from the get go and they require a careful study and memorization of their patterns, defeating these bosses will give any gamer a bona-fide feeling of satisfaction and pride.

These games are tough as nails and not for the weak willed. If you’re going to jump into these games expecting a fairly casual and fun action experience, then you will quickly learn within the first 20 minutes that these games demand skill, attention and perseverance. As enjoyable as these games are, they will definitely frustrate a lot of people by making them feel like they are inept gamers. Thankfully, Capcom were one step ahead of this problem.

Mega Man Zero Collection comes with its own exclusive mode called ‘Easy Scenario Mode’. In this mode you play all four Mega Man Zero games as if they were one big game. From the get go, you get a maxed out character with almost all the necessary skills, Cyber Elves etc. and go up against far more forgiving bosses. This mode really feels like a walk in the park and will allow casuals to breeze through. That said, if you’re serious about these games then you shouldn’t go anywhere near this lenient version of Mega Man Zero because all the thrill and excitement of these games can only be experienced under the original difficulty setting. The Easy Scenario Mode, in truth, offers a very dull experience.

The bosses are just plain rude.

The bosses are just plain rude.
Close
Graphically and musically, these games have aged well and are not much different from what can be found in the DS-only Mega Man ZX series. The sprites look decent enough and music score is as awesome as the brilliant stuff we’ve heard from the Mega Man series. In terms of graphics, music and even gameplay, these games feel as relevant for the DS as any other 2D action title.

Mega Man Zero Collection is a nice compilation of some of the best Gameboy Advance action titles. That said, these are in the end direct emulations of games that came out in the previous generation, and if you’ve already played any of these games on the Gameboy Advance then there isn’t any point for you to get this collection. In terms of extras, there is the customary gallery mode and as for the Easy Scenario Mode, which may seem like an attractive offering at first but all it does is offer an dumb down no thrills Mega Man experience. If Mega Man games generally drive you insane then you should really stay away from this collection. Furthermore, the DS only Mega Man ZX and Mega Man ZX Advent are attractive alternatives to this package, as they offer a much different experience. All that said, Mega Man Zero Collection is a generous package that gives gamers a chance to catch up on a great series, all for a fair price of $30.
The Score
Mega Man Zero Collection is a generous package that gives gamers a chance to catch up on a great series, all for a fair price of $30. 8
Looking to buy this game right now? PALGN recommends www.Play-Asia.com.

Related Content

Sound Test #10
21 Apr, 2010 Mega Man does an awesome Mega Mix.
Mega Man 9 Review
02 Oct, 2008 The Blue Bomber goes back in time... does he still have what it takes?
Mega Man Star Force Review
20 Dec, 2007 The force is weakening with this one.
12 Comments
3 years ago
value proposition or no proposition, did you manage in your playtime to complete any of the games?

I'd rate the zero collection 6/10 myself for the crippling difficutly for the most parts.
3 years ago
THEMAN wrote
I'd rate the zero collection 6/10 myself for the crippling difficutly for the most parts.
Harden up.

I'm still waiting for a classic collection of all the 8bit games with the Snes and PSX one.
3 years ago
Damn it... I payed 60 bucks for this game! Cause I'd thought I'd import it instead.

Anyway, agreed. The Mega Man Zero game's are tough as nails! They even have the nerve to rank you on how well you played each stage. Damn you rank 'C' and 'B'!

Definitely one of the most awesome games to have the Mega Man name in it though.
3 years ago
David No.1 wrote
Definitely one of the most awesome games to have the Mega Man name in it though.
Call be a fanboy but I could never get into the X games, far too melodramatic for my taste. Zero was my main problem with them. The gameplay is fun and all but my god I wish they'd shut up. They've just kept getting worse.

Megman 3 is the best Megaman.

just enough story to be interesting but not overdone, also Protoman and awesome music.
3 years ago
Awesome Review, I really want to pick up a copy! :D

Oh, and I cant find Megaman ZX Advent anywhere >_< really want it too!
3 years ago
@Benza: I can see where you coming from, Zero in English version of X4... WTH?! But yeah... who plays Mega Man for silly stories and all that, game play as you said is where its at!

The original Mega Man X game for me Obliterates every Mega Man game ever! Great game play, great power ups, great 16-bit graphics and music of the gods!
3 years ago
I have to admit I do have a soft spot for the first X game since it was my first Megaman. But I'm not a fan of the charge cannon to be honest. It turned the game into just charging your cannon and quickly reacting with the blasts rushing thruogh levels. The dash in the X games only made it worse.

I'm glad they got rid of it for 9 and 10
(although still can't figure out why the fuck they got rid of the slide)

Megaman 3 had it all perfect. It introduced Rush but still didn't have the charge cannon, the music was perfect, the level design I rekon was better in 4 but the charge cannon brought it down.

I still don't see what the big deal about 2 is though.
3 years ago
Benza wrote
I still don't see what the big deal about 2 is though.
SPOILER if you haven't played Megaman 2 don't read

2 had awesome bosses and the 1st iterations of the various classes etc that made it fantastic. Metal man. Woodman. Heatman, bubble man, quickman..etc. The perfect blend of platforming and shooting action.

It also had the best 16bit chiptunes in the series and the best challenge room in the series. (The room with the wall cannons which is an boss fight).

and best use of weapon play in the series - and also the best use of weaponry vs the end boss.

THE BEST!~
3 years ago
THEMAN wrote
Benza wrote
I still don't see what the big deal about 2 is though.
SPOILER if you haven't played Megaman 2 don't read

2 had awesome bosses and the 1st iterations of the various classes etc that made it fantastic. Metal man. Woodman. Heatman, bubble man, quickman..etc. The perfect blend of platforming and shooting action.

It also had the best 16bit chiptunes in the series and the best challenge room in the series. (The room with the wall cannons which is an boss fight).

and best use of weapon play in the series - and also the best use of weaponry vs the end boss.

THE BEST!~
Bull, Megaman 3 had far better music. The cannon room was fucking retarded, any 'challenge' that involves you having to kill yourself, then spend 20 minutes in the room grinding on drills to replenish your crash bombs so you can take it out is fucking stupid.

As for the weapons, it had the metal blade wich pretty much over ruled any other weapon in the game.

I mean don't get me wrong, it was a great game, much better then the later ones. (Although I have to admit from a technical standpoint Megaman 5 impressed the shit out of me The final area of dark protomans castle is pretty fucking impressive for a Nes game, and uh.. rushman, chargeman? The train one? I was shocked to see parlax scrolling backgrounds in a nes game.)But I don't see why people hail it as the best of the series.

That said Duane and Brando and the Megas have done a lot for it. Though the Megas next album is going to be on megaman 3 I can't fucking wait.
3 years ago
Benza wrote
THEMAN wrote
Benza wrote
I still don't see what the big deal about 2 is though.
SPOILER if you haven't played Megaman 2 don't read

2 had awesome bosses and the 1st iterations of the various classes etc that made it fantastic. Metal man. Woodman. Heatman, bubble man, quickman..etc. The perfect blend of platforming and shooting action.

It also had the best 16bit chiptunes in the series and the best challenge room in the series. (The room with the wall cannons which is an boss fight).

and best use of weapon play in the series - and also the best use of weaponry vs the end boss.

THE BEST!~
Bull, Megaman 3 had far better music. The cannon room was **** retarded, any 'challenge' that involves you having to kill yourself, then spend 20 minutes in the room grinding on drills to replenish your crash bombs so you can take it out is **** stupid.
fool. That room is about technique. You can do it all in 1 go and by timing it right, you might get hit once if at all. Once you figure it out... its awesome! You'll also use up maybe all but 1-2 of the crashbombs.
3 years ago
holy shit upon googling that you can totaly do it without having to die. I did not realise that.

I still think they came up with a lot more original boss's in the later games. I think it was 5 that had the boss that you had to climb inside to kill. It was fucking awesome.
3 years ago
Bought this a few weeks ago, finished it again. Loved all of the Megaman Zero Games. Excellent games. Battle Network is another personal favourite of mine, with #3 as my best.

But still, Megaman X5 is a beast.
Add Comment
Like this review?
Share it with this tiny url: http://palg.nu/4d4

N4G : News for Gamers         Twitter This!

Digg!     Stumble This!

| More
  Pre-order or buy:
    PALGN recommends: www.Play-Asia.com

Australian Release Date:
  10/6/2010 (Confirmed)
Publisher:
  THQ
Genre:
  Action
Year Made:
  2009
Players:
  1

Read more...
Currently Popular on PALGN
Australian Gaming Bargains - 08/12/11
'Tis the season to be bargaining.
R18+ Legislation
R18+ Legislation
Naruto Shippuden: Ultimate Ninja Storm Generations Preview
Hands on time with the game. Chat time with the CEO of CyberConnect 2.
PALGN's Most Anticipated Games of 2007
24 titles to keep an eye on during 2007.
PALGN's Most Anticipated Games of 2008
And you thought 2007 was populated.